I recently joined this network because I am turning my attention to crime writing. I've been writing for about 12 years and have around 30 short stories published - all 'literary'. I've been a part of the editorial board for a couple of magazines (most notably Pindeldyboz which recently folded its print edition) and I have to say that, outside of that specific magazine world, the mystery writers society is unbelievably friendly compared to the 'literary' writing world. There is so much competition in crime writing, yet this does not translate to jealousy or arrogance in the writers themselves. I have to say it's refreshing having, for so long, been on both sides of the literary writing world (by this I mean, a lowly author who was always being asked 'Yes, but what have you PUBLISHED?' to being an editor who 'doesn't appreciate good writing when he sees it.'
I'd heard about the good nature of crime writers and the community, and I'm glad to see it is all true.

Views: 70

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

It's because we get to kill people if they piss us off. Gruesomely, if necessary. Relieves a lot of stress. All we have to remember is to change their names in the story; we can think of whoever we want while we type it.

Welcome aboard.
that's so true. Only the other day I killed off an inlaw! it's so exhilerating!!! (in a chapter that is)!!!
Yeah, crime writers are a good bunch. I think it's because they're all looking to right some wrongs. Nothing's more noble than investigating why an innocent person had to die before their time.