I know Rabbi Jacobs is a karate champion, Jonathan Maberry an 8th degree black belt in jujutsu, which I can only marvel at the discpline needed to achieve that. Me, after 6 years of study I'm going to be testing this October for my black belt in Kung Fu (Hungar southern style). Who else here's practicing martial arts?

Views: 16

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

I studied Tae kwon do for fifteen years, including three years in Korea.
Karyn, I have nothing but respect and admiration for anyone who can stick with martial arts training as long as you did. My guess is after 15 years you got pretty deep into it. What was it like studying in Korea?

It was incredibly spiritual and mundane at the same time. The spiritual elements came from running the same paths that had been run up the hill sides for generations. The wars and Japanese ocupation forced many practicioners into secret, but they could train in small groups or keep the arts going within the family unit. What we see today is really very 20th century. Most of the current tae kwon do forms were standarized after the Korean war.
It was mundane because it is as common as little league baseball is here. Every town has schools, in Seoul every neighborhood, district, region etc. The kids pile into vans and compete every weekend. In the smaller villages, their summer camp means they sleep at the dojo and make all the meals for their instructor and each other. They take turns cleaning up and keeping the facility in order. There is little mystical effort associated with WTF schools in Korea. They do not test for tips, but test for complete belt colors. Nobody signs a contract guarenteeing a Black Belt. You move up when the instructor decides you are ready. There weren't any musical forms or any "create-your-own" form competitions.