January 2011 Blog Posts (166)

My Hot Selling YA Ghost Mystery, GHOST GIRL IN SHADOW BAY, Now in Kindle, Nook, and Print

 

If you like Amityville Horror type ghost and haunted house novels and movies, you will love my new YA novel, GHOST GIRL IN SHADOW BAY, now in Kindle, Nook, and print.



Fans of Meg Cabot, R. L. Stine, Stephenie Meyer, Lois Duncan, Elizabeth Chandler, Francine Pascal, Caroline Cooney, Marley Gibson, Scott Westerfeld, Rachel Vincent,…

Continue

Added by R. Barri Flowers on January 23, 2011 at 7:06am — No Comments

My Legal Thriller Everyone is Talking About, STATE'S EVIDENCE, Now in Kindle and Nook

 

Read what everyone is talking about these days--my powerful bestselling legal thriller, STATE'S EVIDENCE, now in Kindle and Nook.



You be the judge and jury of this eBook thriller and see how it stacks up to legal fiction by Grisham, Rosenberg, Fairstein, Scottoline, Bell, and other great legal novelists.



Assistant District…

Continue

Added by R. Barri Flowers on January 23, 2011 at 7:02am — No Comments

Giveaway of Heat Wave/interview with Richard Castle/mystery short story

New issue of Kings River Life with a bunch of mystery fun. Check out an interview with Richard Castle given us by his publisher (yes the fictional character, it's a lot of fun), a review of "Heat Wave" & enter for a chance to win a copy of "Heat Wave" http://kingsriverlife.com/01/22/heat-wave/

Also an original mystery short story called "The Devil and the Crab" by Margaret Mendel… Continue

Added by Lorie Ham on January 23, 2011 at 4:47am — No Comments

Mont St-Michel by Margot Justes

Along with Susan Miura, I'm working on A Taste of France, and one of the places we'll discuss is Mont St-Michel on the Normandy Coast, one of the wonders of the world. To say it is magnificent would be an understatement, the tiny rocky tidal island has been designated a World Heritage Site in 1979, and rightfully so.



I visited Mont St-Michel many years ago but the memory is still vivid, the effort to haul the huge rocks using pulleys and heavy rope to built the houses, church, and… Continue

Added by Margot Justes on January 23, 2011 at 2:41am — No Comments

In the middle of the maelstrom!

For the last couple of weeks, I've been caught up by the excitement and potential for getting my books ready to put up on Kindle. First, I read several blogs, one of which I think I've mentioned here: http://jakonrath.blogspot.com has, in my opinion, the most exciting information about the subject of becoming an Indie. He invites authors, both NY best sellers, like Tim Hallinan, and newbies who've side-stepped the rejection process (boy howdy,…

Continue

Added by R P Dahlke on January 22, 2011 at 11:24am — 2 Comments

Excerpt - Black Diamonds

 

After the lunchtime rush, Jamie almost had the Diner to herself, which suited her frame of mind. She needed time to reflect on all that had happened since she had started working at the Eats three weeks ago. Waitressing was more difficult than she had thought it would be. She had to learn a new language, shout orders into the kitchen as she hurried through swinging doors bearing heavy trays of plates heaped with food. She was constantly moving from one table to the next, into the…

Continue

Added by henya drescher on January 22, 2011 at 9:30am — No Comments

R IS FOR REJECTION - TODAY'S L.A. WRITERS TRICKS OF THE TRADE

LINK: http://exm.nr/writers-rejection

 

Unfortunately, as writers most of us know what receving that…

Continue

Added by Morgan St. James on January 22, 2011 at 7:05am — No Comments

Vincent Zandri: Sponsored by Budwesier



Lately there's been talk amongst publishers, agents, and authors alike that E-Books might one day be offered to the public for free (ok, I know this is happening now, but I mean ALL E-Books). Instead of the reader paying the author/publisher, sponsors will pay in exchange for product placement inside the text. Since the books are read via electronic reader, readers will be able to link to specific product websites, and even to that author's own books should the opportunity present…

Continue

Added by Vincent Zandri on January 22, 2011 at 12:39am — No Comments

Unique Habits of 20 famous writers

I often say that every writer’s process is different. Today’s post on Another Writer's Life explores some of the habits well-known authors fell into for inspiration - http://ascamacho.blogspot.com

Added by Austin S. Camacho on January 22, 2011 at 12:36am — 1 Comment

Around the Globe with SARAH STORME

So it's below zero this morning as I jump in my transporter to pick up this week's featured author, Sarah Storme. Once again, I get a pushy author (just kidding) who immediately inputs a destination and we end up in the town where she grew up: New Orleans. (At least she picked someplace a little warmer). She whisks me out to a French Quarter cafe where we enjoy various delicacies (sorry, no chicory coffee for me), while we talk.



1. Who is Sarah Storme and what makes you the most… Continue

Added by Stephen Brayton on January 22, 2011 at 12:11am — No Comments

Review - Black Ice, Hans Werner Kettenbach

Book Title:  BLACK ICE

Author:   Hans Werner Kettenbach

Publisher:   Bitter Lemon Press

Copyright:   2005

ISBN:   1-904738-08-7

No of Pages:   224



Book Synopsis:



Erica, an attractive local heiress, is married to Wallman, a man with expensive tastes.  When she falls to her death near their lakeside villa, the police conclude it was a tragic accident.  Scholten, a long time employee of Erica's, isn't so sure.  He knows a thing or two about the true state of… Continue

Added by Karen from AustCrime on January 21, 2011 at 4:32pm — 1 Comment

Review - Between Summer's Longing and Winter's End - Leif G.W. Persson

Book Title:   BETWEEN SUMMER'S LONGING AND WINTER'S END

Author:   Leif G.W. Persson

Publisher:   Doubleday

Copyright:   2010

ISBN:   978-0-385-61418-4

No of Pages:   551



Book Synopsis:



It begins with the apparent suicide of a young American student in Stockholm. What is at first an open and shut case of suicide quickly leads to a complex web of international espionage, treachery and ultimately the legendary murder of the Swedish Prime Minister, Olof Palme.… Continue

Added by Karen from AustCrime on January 21, 2011 at 4:30pm — No Comments

Review - A Death in Tuscany, Michele Giuttari

Book Title:   A DEATH IN TUSCANY

Author:   Michele Giuttari

Publisher:   Abacus

Copyright:   2008

ISBN:   978-0-349-12007-2

No of Pages:   381



Book Synopsis:



In the picturesque Tuscan hill town of Scandicci, the body of a girl is discovered.  Scantily dressed, with no purse or other possessions, she is lying by the edge of the woods.  The local police investigate the case - but after a week they still haven't even identified her, let alone got to the… Continue

Added by Karen from AustCrime on January 21, 2011 at 12:54pm — No Comments

Elly Griffiths' Norfolk Forensic Archaeologist at Scene of the Crime

“Utterly Desolate”–The Norfolk of Elly Griffiths’ Ruth Galloway Novels

Continue

Added by J. Sydney Jones on January 21, 2011 at 11:48am — No Comments

K IS FOR "KEEP WRITING" - WRITERS TRICKS OF THE TRADE

LINK TO TODAY'S COLUMN - http://exm.nr/KforKeepWriting

 

As writers, we all say that we will keep writing. Oh yeah, write every day. Some of us do and some of us don't. I decided this would make a great topic for my column today in the Las Vegas edition of Examiner.com. Those of you…

Continue

Added by Morgan St. James on January 21, 2011 at 9:02am — 2 Comments

MIchael Palmer A Heartbeat Away

Confession time: even though I have been following this author on various social media this is the first time I have read one of his novels. I know, groan, what is my issue, I have to claim no excuse. Michael Palmer’s bio is impressive as is his body of work. I will include all that in today’s post so hopefully if you are like me and haven’t had the chance to read one his works, you can shift gears and either get a hold of A Heartbeat Away or one of his other many novels. To…

Continue

Added by Giovanni Gelati on January 21, 2011 at 5:49am — No Comments

The Woman with the Jet-Black Hair

 

An excerpt from a chapter in my book, Black Diamonds.

 

 

 

http://henya-writingismylife.blogspot.com/2011/01/woman-with-jet-black-hair.html

Added by henya drescher on January 20, 2011 at 7:41am — 2 Comments

Steve Berry The Balkins Escape & my interview with him!

Yesterday I had the pleasure of sitting down and chatting with NYT Bestselling author Steve Berry. He was very engaging, put me at ease immediately, and was very engaging. We covered a variety of subjects, some old, some surprisingly new and he was nice enough to throw a few tidbits to share with everyone. But first I want to get in a few thoughts on his digital short story that sheds some light on his current novel The Emperor’s Tomb , The Balkans…

Continue

Added by Giovanni Gelati on January 20, 2011 at 6:40am — No Comments

Maralys Wills to speak at Greater Los Angeles Writers Society on Jan 22

LINK: http://exm.nr/maralys

AUTHOR MARALYS WILLS 

Today's Los Angeles edition examiner.com Spotlight is on author, speaker, educator Maralys Wills who will be the guest…

Continue

Added by Morgan St. James on January 20, 2011 at 4:00am — No Comments

Monthly Archives

2019

2018

2017

2016

2015

2014

2013

2012

2011

2010

2009

2008

2007

2006

2005

2004

2003

2002

2001

2000

1999

1998

1997

1996

1995

1994

1993

1991

CrimeSpace Google Search

© 2019   Created by Daniel Hatadi.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service