Mystery Ink announced the nominees for the 2007 Gumshoe Awards today and it's a great group of books.

The Gumshoe Awards are given by Mystery Ink each year to recognize the best achievements in the world of crime fiction. The nominated books were chosen from those published for the first time in the United States in 2006. The winners will be announced on May 1, 2007.

The nominees are:

Best Mystery:

Ace Atkins - White Shadow Ariana Franklin - City of Shadows
George Pelecanos - The Night Gardener
Julia Spencer-Fleming - All Mortal Flesh
Joseph Wambaugh - Hollywood Station

Best Thriller:

Lee Child - The Hard Way Barry Eisler - The Last Assassin
Robert Ferrigno - Prayers of the Assassin
William Lashner - Marked Man
M.J. Rose - The Venus Fix

Best European Crime Novel:

Ken Bruen - The Dramatist Gianrico Carofiglio - A Walk in the Dark
Philippe Claudel - By a Slow River
Karin Fossum - When the Devil Holds the Candle
Barbara Vine - The Minotaur

Best First Novel:
Dave Case - Out of Cabrini
James Church - A Corpse in the Koryo
John Hart - King of Lies
Thomas Lakeman - The Shadow Catchers
Cornelia Read - A Field of Darkness

Still to be announced is the recipient of the Lifetime Achievement Award, which will be presented at the same time as the other winners. There will also be an award for Best Crime Fiction Website.

Congratulations to all the nominees! I'm very excited about this list.

Views: 65


You need to be a member of CrimeSpace to add comments!

Comment by Steven Torres on March 21, 2007 at 1:16pm
Another award and another set of titles I have not yet gotten to. There is one book in each subsection that I have wanted to read - lots of press for Read, Bruen, Child and Spencer-Fleming titles. The Pelecanos as well. I've actually read precisely one title on the entire list. Shame on me. Thanks for posting this,

CrimeSpace Google Search

© 2021   Created by Daniel Hatadi.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service