Coming in November: The first Martin Preuss Mystery

The first in my series of mysteries set in suburban Detroit is in the final stages of production.

 

Crimes of Love introduces police detective Martin Preuss. Fiercely independent, a widower who dearly loves his profoundly handicapped son, Preuss makes his debut one cold November night when he joins a frantic search for a seven-year-old girl with epilepsy who has disappeared from the streets of his community. Unwilling to let go after the county Sheriff's office takes the case over from his city agency, he strikes out on his own, following leads across the entire Detroit metropolitan region to solve a series of mysteries connected with the girl's disappearance. Probing deep into the anguished lives of all those who came into contact with the missing girl, Preuss must summon all his skills and resources to solve the many crimes of love he uncovers.

 

Believable and sympathetic characters, fast-paced storytelling, and keen insight into the weaknesses that beset the human heart at the hallmarks of this first Martin Preuss mystery.

 

Crimes of Love is a must-read for fans of Henning Mankell and Karin Fossum, as well as the Detroit-based noir of Elmore Leonard and Loren Estleman.

 

Elizabeth Sims, author of the Rita Farmer mysteries, said Crimes of Love "deliver all the elements of a solid police procedural, including a missing child, a determined detective with a fractured heart, slimy suspects, and a surprising ending. I commend Don Levin for bringing realism to an outrageous story of love and violence."

 

Crimes of Love will be released in soft cover and e-book formats by Thanksgiving. It will be available through bookstores, Amazon.com, and my website, donaldlevin.wordpress.com.

 

 

Views: 103

Comment

You need to be a member of CrimeSpace to add comments!

Join CrimeSpace

Comment by Summer Foovay on November 17, 2011 at 12:30pm

I'll look forward to reading it.  I have been thinking for a while that someone ought to set some darkish crime noir novels in that desolate, hopeless looking city.  

CrimeSpace Google Search

© 2019   Created by Daniel Hatadi.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service