Steven Hague's Blog (65)

Reading Festival Review

This week’s blog is a special edition for two reasons; first, it’s all about the Reading Rock Festival, and second, it’s the last one I’m planning on writing for a while (but more on that later). So without further ado, here are my thoughts on this year’s Reading Fest.



Now if you’ve come here looking for an unbiased, objective account of the 2009 Reading Festival you’re shit out of luck, as I love this fest with every fibre of my being. As well as being the first one I ever attended… Continue

Added by Steven Hague on September 8, 2009 at 7:54pm — No Comments

V Festival Review - Monday 24th August

Regular readers of this blog (if indeed such creatures exist) may have noticed that when it comes to reviewing bands my comments tend to be fairly positive (I’ve always worked on the principle that if I haven’t got something nice to say, I won’t say anything at all). Well no more. For one week only, I’m going to tell it like it is. Ladies and gentleman, please be upstanding for my V Festival Review (people of a nervous disposition should look away now).



V Festival, Chelmsford, 2009 –… Continue

Added by Steven Hague on September 8, 2009 at 7:53pm — No Comments

Monday 17th August

Blood Law attracted some coverage in the national press this week, when the Daily Mirror newspaper ran a short and sweet review. Here’s what the Mirror had to say:



'Zac Hunter's welcome return in the sequel to Justice For All. This time the ex-LAPD cop infiltrates the gangs of south central to find the kidnapped daughter of a former grass. Gang warfare is about to kick off big time.’



Further publicity came from an interview I did with Rafe McGregor, which was posted on his… Continue

Added by Steven Hague on August 16, 2009 at 8:41pm — No Comments

Monday 10th August

First this week, a quick reminder that I’ll be signing copies of Blood Law at the Norwich branch of Waterstones (Castle Street) on Saturday 15th August at 12 noon. If you’re in the area, please come along to grab a personalised copy of what’s sure to be one of the summer’s most action-packed reads! The last time I had a signing in my hometown the support from the local populace was humbling, so fingers crossed this one goes just as well.



On the publicity front, I appeared in an… Continue

Added by Steven Hague on August 9, 2009 at 7:23pm — No Comments

Sonisphere Festival Review

Having had so much fun at Latitude a couple of weeks back, Lisa and I made a last minute decision to join our good friends Jay (part man, part cider drinking machine), Chris (my uber talented web designer) and Phil (the leather trousered wolfman) in attending the first ever Sonisphere Festival at Knebworth. Now the first thing you need to know about Sonisphere is that it RAWKS! When a band like Feeder are one of the lighter acts on the bill you know that you’re in for some serious riffage.… Continue

Added by Steven Hague on August 5, 2009 at 2:07am — No Comments

Weekly Blog - Monday 3rd August

Last week I was a guest on Radio Norfolk’s Drivetime show, where I got to chat about my latest novel, Blood Law, my chequered past, and my enduring love of rock music. The show lasted for around an hour, and I was stoked to be able to introduce six of my all-time favourite tracks. For those of you that missed the show (and give a damn), these were my selections:



The ’59 Sound – by The Gaslight Anthem

Everlong – by The Foo Fighters

If I Can’t Change Your Mind – by… Continue

Added by Steven Hague on August 5, 2009 at 2:00am — No Comments

Latitude Festival Review - Monday 27th July

I went to the Latitude festival thinking that it might be my last, as the line up was a little light on guitar bands for me, but I had such a good time there it’s almost a certainty that I’ll be back again next year. The fact that the numbers are kept below 30,000 means it’s a cinch to get around, and there was so much space in the campsite I could have put up a 2-bed semi if I’d had the time, inclination, or building skills. There’s just enough good music on offer to keep me interested, and… Continue

Added by Steven Hague on July 28, 2009 at 3:02am — No Comments

Blood Law Gathers Momentum - Monday 27th July

Lots of stuff to report this week – so much that I’m going to split the blog into two in fact – the first part will cover Blood Law related news, while the second will be a review of the Latitude Festival (the festival review will be posted tomorrow).



Blood Law News

In support of the release of Blood Law, I’m pleased to announce that I’ll be doing a book signing at the Norwich branch of Waterstones (Castle Street) on Saturday 15th August at 12 noon. If you’re in the area,… Continue

Added by Steven Hague on July 27, 2009 at 6:00pm — No Comments

New look website goes live!

My new look website is now live! Check it out at www.stevenhague.com. My designer, Christine, has been working her socks off and I think she’s done a fantastic job. On the new site you’ll find tons of information about the second novel in the Zac Hunter series, Blood Law (cool title or what!), including a synopsis, introductions to all the major players, the prologue, a hard-hitting excerpt, musical references – basically all you’ll need to whet your appetite ahead of the book’s official… Continue

Added by Steven Hague on July 13, 2009 at 4:36am — No Comments

Patience Is A Virtue - Monday 6th July

As the eagle-eyed amongst you will have no doubt realised, the blog has been on hiatus for a couple of weeks as Chris (my uber-talented web designer) and myself have been working on a number of site updates (at www.stevenhague.com) ahead of the launch of my second novel, Blood Law. Without wishing to give too much away ahead of the grand unveiling, the look of the site will be updated to tie in more closely with Blood Law’s excellent cover, while the content will be expanded to showcase the… Continue

Added by Steven Hague on July 6, 2009 at 5:08am — No Comments

Weekly Blog - Monday 22nd June

The blog is on temporary hiatus as we're working on a number of site updates ahead of the launch of the second book in the Zac Hunter series, Blood Law.

Cheers,
Steve

What's Steve been listening to this week?

The Evil Powers of Rock and Roll - by The Supersuckers
Smash - by The Offspring
Liqour In The Front - by The Reverend Horton Heat

Added by Steven Hague on June 22, 2009 at 8:30am — No Comments

Weekly Blog - Monday 15th June

There's no blog this week as I'm on vacation.

Cheers,
Steve

Added by Steven Hague on June 15, 2009 at 7:00am — No Comments

Weekly Blog - Monday 8th June

Over the course of last week I worked through the editorial notes that I’d received from my publisher on The Beholder. Having spent months working on the novel (and thus becoming somewhat snowblind to it), it’s really important to receive a fresh perspective from highly skilled people such as my editors, and their suggestions prompted me to re-evaluate certain elements of the story to ensure that it was as honed as possible.



As previously explained, the notes were mostly concerned… Continue

Added by Steven Hague on June 8, 2009 at 8:00am — No Comments

Weekly Blog - Monday 1st June

I’ll keep the blog brief this week as I’ve just received editorial notes from my publisher on the third book in the Zac Hunter series, The Beholder. The notes are mostly concerned with minor character details (e.g. ensuring that dialogue is consistent, reinforcing motivation, etc) along with a request to cut back on the amount of musical references I’ve dotted throughout the text – a fair point as I did go to town on them in this book! I’ll now be spending the next week or so diligently working… Continue

Added by Steven Hague on May 31, 2009 at 6:50pm — No Comments

Weekly Blog - Monday 25th May

Last week I made guest appearance on Future Radio, a Norwich based community station. The interview went well, with the questions centring on my debut novel, Justice For All, along with related topics such as what gave me the inspiration for the story, how I come up with my characters, what type of research I undertake, and how music influences my work. This was the first time I’ve been live on air, and I even got to pick a song at the start of the show – I went for ‘Stay Positive’ by The Hold… Continue

Added by Steven Hague on May 24, 2009 at 6:38pm — No Comments

CrimeFest - Monday 18th May

I just spent a really enjoyable weekend at CrimeFest in Bristol, a convention for fans of the crime writing genre comprised of panels, interviews, reading groups, writing workshops, dinners, and award presentations. The life of an author can be a pretty solitary one at times, so its always a treat to get out and meet others that are involved/interested in crime writing, as it reminds me that I’m not alone.



This was my first time at CrimeFest and I’ve got nothing but praise for… Continue

Added by Steven Hague on May 19, 2009 at 4:00am — No Comments

Weekly Blog - Monday 11th May

This week’s blog will be mostly forwards rather than backwards looking, as I’d like to take the opportunity to tell you about my upcoming appearance at CrimeFest.



CrimeFest is a convention for fans of the crime writing genre, whose programme is comprised of panels, interviews, reading groups, crime writing workshops, dinners, and award presentations. It’s an annual event held in Bristol, with this years festivities due to run from the 14 – 17 May at the Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel… Continue

Added by Steven Hague on May 12, 2009 at 7:28pm — No Comments

Weekly Blog - Monday 4th May

Justice For All has attracted another glowing review, this time from the Eurocrime website, which describes itself as a site for fans of British and European crime fiction writers. Eurocrime describes JFA as a ‘gritty book with an aggressive feel to it’ and says that it ‘builds up to a tense ending.’ In closing, the reviewer concludes that ‘this is a promising book from a new author, and I look forward to Zac's next outing.’ To read the full review, please visit… Continue

Added by Steven Hague on May 5, 2009 at 6:30pm — No Comments

Weekly Blog - Monday 27th April

Another week where there’s not that much to report on the writing front. I’m still waiting to hear my publisher’s views on The Beholder, so there’s not a great deal that I can be getting on with at present, short of thinking about book four (which is certainly on my mind, although I’m not ready to say too much about that yet). So with my author hat temporarily hanging from its peg, I’ve donned my DIY enthusiast hard hat and ventured outside to enjoy some balmy April sunshine. Last week I… Continue

Added by Steven Hague on April 27, 2009 at 7:36pm — No Comments

Weekly Blog - Monday 20th April

It’s a case of same as you were this week, as Justice For All remains on sale, Blood Law is waiting to be unleashed on the 17th July, and The Beholder is with my publishers for comment, leaving me time to tackle some DIY projects in the garden (the latest of which involves making windows for an outbuilding we inherited when we moved in). So with little else to report, I’d best fetch my saw and crack on!



Cheers,

Steve



What’s Steve been listening to this week?

The… Continue

Added by Steven Hague on April 20, 2009 at 8:00pm — No Comments

CrimeSpace Google Search

© 2020   Created by Daniel Hatadi.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service