I never thought that as a writer I'd be thankful for my name. Sure, I've been referred to in mystey programs as Hirahiraha (my last name is Hirahara) but that has been the exception more than the rule.

Then I read this article in the Wall Street Journal:

http://online.wsj.com/article/SB117856222924394753.html?mod=most_vi...

More and more parents-to-be are consulting Google to make sure that the names they give their children are relatively unique. How about your name? Do you share your name with a Nobel Prize-winning scientist, a carpet cleaning tycoon arrested for embezzlement, a has-been actress in Australia, or a star teen soccer player from Wichita, Kansas? Have you had to tweak your name a bit to stand out from the crowd? In other words, if we were to Google you, could we find you on the first Google page?

Views: 89

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

Yes, I would be on the first Google page. Please ignore the Marquette State Prison lead in----I'm researching a novel. Missing from the front page was my website, gee I gotta work on that...
Are you also the herbalist? And regarding getting your website as a top search item, there is something to be done. But I can't remember. Web whizzes, can you help Mr. Leppanen out?
Yes, Naomi, you caught me, I've written for herbal and natural health magazines for a bit. Back before computers were the vogue. Like the rest of my life, there have been writing cycles...
Maybe the parent should buy the kid's domain name at birth. What a legacy?

Hey Naomi--Did you know you can GOOGLE ALERT your name (or any other search criteria) that will send you an email whenever it is posted on the Internet? Maybe someone posted a new review for your book.