January 2016 Blog Posts (38)

MAX ALLAN COLLINS - QUARRY (1976)

Synopsis/blurb…..
 
Cult favorite Quarry, the killer for hire, is back in print with this debut novel and four other early works by author Max Allan Collins. They don't come any harder-boiled than Quarry. After carrying out his assignment in a down-at-heels river…
Continue

Added by Colman on January 31, 2016 at 6:03pm — No Comments

PATRICIA HIGHSMITH - STRANGERS ON A TRAIN (1950)

Synopsis/blurb……..
The psychologists would call it folie a deux...
 
'Bruno slammed his palms together. 'Hey! Cheeses, what an idea! I kill your wife and you kill my father! We meet on a train, see, and nobody knows we know each other! Perfect…
Continue

Added by Colman on January 30, 2016 at 7:30pm — No Comments

CARLITO SOFER + NIK KRASNO - RISE OF AN OLIGARCH (2014)

Synopsis/blurb….
 
When Ukrainian oligarch Mikhail Vorotavich is close to achieving his ambition of topping the Forbes rich list, an assassination attempt leaves him in a coma and his vast business empire rapidly descends into…
Continue

Added by Colman on January 29, 2016 at 6:21pm — No Comments

RUSTY BARNES - RIDGERUNNER (2016)

Synopsis/blurb….
A KILLER FROM THE HILLS NOVEL
 
For fans of Larry Brown, Daniel Woodrell, Scott Smith, Donald Ray Pollock and Scott Phillips, this rural noir set in northern Pennsylvania features a world in which the natural gas industry has raped…
Continue

Added by Colman on January 28, 2016 at 10:08pm — No Comments

MAX EVERHART - ALPHABET LAND (2016)

Synopsis/blurb…
 
A "problem-solver" is trying to clean things up in a neighbourhood awash in drugs, violence and crime.
 
In Alphabet Land, a rundown neighbourhood in Clyde, SC, Luke Bump calls the shots. So when Bump, a sadistic…
Continue

Added by Colman on January 27, 2016 at 6:42pm — No Comments

PIERO CHIARA - THE DISAPPEARANCE OF SIGNORA GIULIA (1970/2015)

Synopsis/blurb……..
 
A delightfully Italian mystery, with undercurrent of satire, which keeps the reader guessing.
Every Thursday for three years, Signora Giulia takes the train to Milan to visit her daughter. But one Thursday she simply…
Continue

Added by Colman on January 26, 2016 at 6:33pm — No Comments

ANONYMOUS-9 - CRASHING THROUGH MIRRORS (2014)

Synopsis/blurb…..
Named "BEST CRIME FICTION 2014" alongside Matthew McBride, Joe Lansdale and Karin Slaughter by JustaGuythatLikestoRead blog.
 
Bern Aldershot, former bass player for the legendary band Aldershot is attacked in a parking…
Continue

Added by Colman on January 25, 2016 at 6:17pm — No Comments

C. J. HOWELL - THE HUNDRED MILE VIEW (2016)

Synopsis/blurb…..
 
A JAKE KELLER THRILLER
 
For fans of Tony Hillerman, Craig Johnson and Robert B. Parker, a crime thriller set on the Navajo Nation from the author of The Last of the Smoking…
Continue

Added by Colman on January 24, 2016 at 9:51pm — No Comments

WILLIAM CRAIG - THE STRASBOURG LEGACY (1975)

Synopsis/blurb…..
Decades after the defeat of the Third Reich, the SS rears its sinister head in this captivating thriller from the bestselling author of Enemy at the Gates and The Fall of Japan
 
In the chaos of defeat, while Germany's roads…
Continue

Added by Colman on January 22, 2016 at 6:34pm — No Comments

JAY STRINGER - FAITHLESS STREET (2012)

Synopsis/blurb…..
Faithless Street is a collection of four short stories that set the scene for the novel Old Gold. Each story is set in the Black Country, in the English Midlands, and shows glimpses of people’s lives as they try to make ends meet amidst gang life, drugs deals and…
Continue

Added by Colman on January 21, 2016 at 5:30pm — No Comments

JAY STRINGER - OLD GOLD (2012)

Synopsis/blurb…..
When gangland detective and former cop Eoin Miller wakes up to realize his almost-one-night stand has gone cold as a corpse in his bed, his gypsy heritage screams for him to do the easy thing and run. Having abandoned his morals, ambitions, and relationships for a life of…
Continue

Added by Colman on January 20, 2016 at 6:52pm — No Comments

MAX ALLAN COLLINS - SPREE (1987)

Synopsis/blurb…..
 
The taut, final crime novel in Max Allan Collins's Nolan series. Both Nolan and his friend Jon have retired from the dangerous game of robbery. But a backwoods hoodlum named Cole Comfort kidnaps Nolan's girlfriend and demands he pull one final, huge job.…
Continue

Added by Colman on January 19, 2016 at 6:18pm — No Comments

BILL PRONZINI - DRAGONFIRE (1982)

Synopsis/blurb………
 
It's a lazy mid-August Sunday afternoon. The "Nameless Detective" and his old friend Lieutenant Eberhardt are relaxing on the patio, drinking beer and shooting the breeze, when the doorbell rings. As Eberhardt answers the door, Nameless hears two…
Continue

Added by Colman on January 18, 2016 at 6:19pm — No Comments

NICHOLAS SEARLE - THE GOOD LIAR (2015)

Synopsis/blurb……
 
This is a life told back to front.
 
This is a man who has lied all his life.
 
Roy is a conman living in a leafy English suburb, about to pull off the final coup of his…
Continue

Added by Colman on January 17, 2016 at 6:16pm — No Comments

Review: "Ghost of the Karankawa: A Bill Travis Mystery" by George Wier

In a mystery series that started with The Last Call several years ago, Bill Travis has been known to get involved one way or another in some very strange situations. Often he gets into cases where one can almost hear the Twilight Zone theme music playing in the background. Such is the case here with the…

Continue

Added by Kevin R. Tipple on January 17, 2016 at 6:37am — No Comments

Review: "Hannibal Jones Mystery: Christmas Short Stories" by Austin S. Camacho

This fast moving read contains three short stories set in the holiday season. Opening with “No Place To Spend Christmas” where coming through a window in the middle of the night is not the best way to get help. But, that is what he did as he had a definite reason. He needs her help and Alexis Reedy knows…

Continue

Added by Kevin R. Tipple on January 17, 2016 at 5:41am — No Comments

Review: "Smoke and Mirrors: A Hannibal Jones Mystery Short Story" by Austin S. Camacho

A Hannibal Jones short story is a treat and Smoke and Mirrors proves to be no exception. The wildfires in southern California have done a real number on the area. Hannibal Jones knows that after seeing the destruction from the air as his plane headed into San Diego.

 

What he didn’t…

Continue

Added by Kevin R. Tipple on January 17, 2016 at 5:26am — No Comments

DIETRICH KALTEIS - THE DEADBEAT CLUB (2015)

Synopsis/blurb….


A fast and powerful crime novel full of action, vengeance, twists, and dark humour


Grey Stevens took over the family business after his uncle passed away, and now he grows the best pot in Whistler. It’s called Eight Miles…
Continue

Added by Colman on January 16, 2016 at 11:45pm — No Comments

Criminal Potential

A BOY WITH POTENTIAL

 

 I hate that question, 'How do you get your ideas?' But for once I can answer.

Some years ago I was watching the news.  A U.S school was in a state of panic after multiple shootings by an adolescent.  The account was truly shocking and the outcomes were followed closely by the media over several days. Sadly, there have been other such events since, in and outside of…

Continue

Added by Rosalind Minett on January 16, 2016 at 10:30pm — No Comments

EVANGELINE JENNINGS - BERETTA (2015)

Synopsis/blurb…..
 
Maggie is searching for Rachel on the Natchez Trace. Karis is on the run and bound for Mexico. Chances are these girls are going to meet. Most likely somebody will die.
Starting 2016 the same way I exited 2015 – with a bang and another…
Continue

Added by Colman on January 15, 2016 at 6:34pm — No Comments

Monthly Archives

2017

2016

2015

2014

2013

2012

2011

2010

2009

2008

2007

2006

2005

2004

2003

2002

2001

2000

1999

1998

1997

1996

1995

1994

1993

1991

CrimeSpace Google Search

© 2017   Created by Daniel Hatadi.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service