Stephen Booth
  • Male
  • United Kingdom
Share on Facebook Share

Stephen Booth's Friends

  • Carol Bridgestock
  • Keith Spence
  • Malcolm Holt
  • Robin Jarossi
  • Matt Hilton
  • Michael Baker
  • Stephanie Padilla, Editor-NewMysteryReader.com
  • Jon Loomis
  • Hull Crime Fiction
  • Linda Brown
  • deb simpson
  • Nancy Thorp
  • L.J. Sellers
  • Pauline Rowson
  • Beth Groundwater
 

Stephen Booth's Page

Profile Information

Hometown:
Nottinghamshire, UK
About Me:
I suppose I should mention that I'm the author of the Ben Cooper and Diane Fry series, featuring two young Derbyshire police detectives and set in England's Peak District:

BLACK DOG
DANCING WITH THE VIRGINS
BLOOD ON THE TONGUE
BLIND TO THE BONES
ONE LAST BREATH
THE DEAD PLACE
SCARED TO LIVE
DYING TO SIN
THE KILL CALL
and coming to the UK in April 2010:

the 10th Cooper & Fry novel

LOST RIVER

"An atmospheric new Fry and Cooper thriller for fans of Peter Robinson and Reginald Hill.
A May Bank Holiday in the Peak District is ruined by the tragic drowning of an eight-year-old girl among crowds of visitors in the tourist hotspot of Dovedale.
For Detective Constable Ben Cooper, a helpless witness to the tragedy, the incident is not only traumatic, but leads him to become involved in the tangled lives of the Neilds, the dead girl's family. As he gets to know them, Cooper begins to suspect that one of them is harbouring a secret - a secret that the whole family might be willing to cover up.
Meanwhile, Detective Sergeant Diane Fry has a journey of her own to make - a journey back to her roots. As she finds herself drawn into an investigation of her own among the inner city streets of Birmingham, Fry realises there is only one person she can rely on to provide the help she needs.
But that man is Ben Cooper, and he's back in Derbyshire, where his suspicions are leading him towards a shocking discovery on the banks of another Peak District river."

If you're outside the UK, you can order a copy of THE KILL CALL with FREE worldwide shipping from The Book Depository:

http://www.bookdepository.co.uk/book/9780007243488/Lost-River


Other than that... well, I'm yet another ex-journalist who turned to crime. I live in rural Nottinghamshire, close to Sherwood Forest. There's far more than you really need to know about me on my website.

You can also visit the Stephen Booth Forum:

http://www.stephen-booth.com/Forum

or check out my new blog:

http://stephen-booth.blogspot.com

I'm on MySpace too:

http://www.myspace.com/stephenbooth

and Facebook:

http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=597367391
I Am A:
Writer
Website:
http://www.stephen-booth.com
Books And Authors I Like:
Favourite authors include:
Peter Robinson
Reginald Hill
John Harvey
Michael Connelly
Ian Rankin
Ruth Rendell
Stuart Pawson
Minette Walters
Movies And TV Shows I Like:
Life on Mars
New Tricks
NCIS
CSI
Dexter

Stephen Booth's Photos

  • Add Photos
  • View All

Stephen Booth's Blog

Are you offended yet?

Today I'm blogging on a hot subject over at Blogspot - prompted by an abusive email from an offended reader! Do we all get those? Or is it just me? Let me know what you think:

http://stephen-booth.blogspot.com

Posted on February 7, 2009 at 8:30am — 3 Comments

Out now: the 8th Cooper & Fry novel DYING TO SIN

My 8th Cooper and Fry novel, DYING TO SIN, will be published in the UK on 3rd September (and in Canada, Australia, New Zealand, etc shortly afterwards).

I can hardly believe that I've reached eight books in this series since BLACK DOG first appeared in 2000. And I'm currently at work on number 9!

Here's the publisher's blurb for DYING TO SIN:

"The atmospheric and terrfiying new thriller, featuring Detectives Fry and Cooper from the award-winning Stephen Booth. For…

Continue

Posted on August 27, 2007 at 5:42am

Allan Guthrie is a winner

Many congratulations to Allan Guthrie, who won the Theakston's Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year Award for his first novel TWO WAY SPLIT. I was really thrilled for Allan, and I could tell that he was genuinely gobsmacked to have won!

A big 'thank you' to everyone who voted for THE DEAD PLACE, and to the organisers of the Harrogate Crime Writing Festival (including, of course, sponsors Theakston's themselves) for supporting this award and putting on such a great event.

Posted on August 27, 2007 at 5:41am

THE DEAD PLACE makes the final six!

Many thanks to everyone who voted for the 6th Cooper & Fry novel THE DEAD PLACE in the UK Crime Novel of the Year nominations. The book is now through to the final six. Congratulations to all the other authors on the shortlist, too - it's a great list, and I'm really honoured to be on it.

The award is sponsored by…

Continue

Posted on July 8, 2007 at 7:44am

THE DEAD PLACE nominated for UK Crime Novel of the Year

I'm chuffed to say that the 6th Cooper & Fry novel THE DEAD PLACE has just been nominated for the UK Crime Novel of the Year Award, sponsored by Theakston's Old Peculier.

This is the only UK award that allows readers to vote for the winner.…

Continue

Posted on May 21, 2007 at 11:11pm

Comment Wall (54 comments)

You need to be a member of CrimeSpace to add comments!

Join CrimeSpace

At 12:43am on May 9, 2009, Malcolm Holt said…
Hi Stephen,
You are my first official friend on my CrimeSpace page. Many thanks. Malcolm
At 10:41pm on February 11, 2009, Dorte said…
Hi Stephen.
I finally got round to reviewing "Blind to the Bones". You might like to see my "Bait in the Box" post which is a kind of appetizer before the final review.
http://djskrimiblog.blogspot.com/2009/02/djs-bait-in-box-4.html
Usually my visitors enjoy it quite a lot :)
At 2:13am on February 3, 2009, JackBludis said…
See you in Indianapolis ... Nice Newsletter, by the way.

Keep on keeping on ...
At 11:31pm on January 15, 2009, Dorte said…
Hi Stephen.
I liked your first two and really enjoyed the third (borrowed the Danish version at my local library) so I really expect that reading/reviewing your fourth in English is going to be MY pleasure :)
Personally I prefer reading British fiction in English but if I post a Danish review as well at the right time I may be able to lure some Danish fans into my blog-net :)
At 5:35am on January 15, 2009, Dorte said…
I am going to review "Blind to the Bones" soon on my Danish/English blog. Wonder whether I can promise my Danish visitors that Klim will soon translate it into Danish?
At 1:23am on March 26, 2008, L.J. Sellers said…
Hi Stephen
Your books look great! I'll have to add you to my list.
At this rate, I'll end up doing more reading than writing, which may be better for my sanity ... long term.
At 11:29pm on January 28, 2008, JackBludis said…
I'm missing "Left Coast" this year. Hope to see you at Bouchecon. "Charmed to Death." How can I miss my home-town Bouchercon?
At 10:03am on December 18, 2007, Lillian Porter said…
I just finished reading The Dead Place and enjoyed it very much. Do you ever do book signings in Canada?

Lillian Porter
At 5:29am on August 27, 2007, Northern Light said…
Thanks for the add
At 12:11am on August 19, 2007, Maryann Mercer said…
Hi Stephen, it's Maryann from LIM! I am really ready for the newest Cooper and Fry...have resorted to ordering from Canada to get the hardcovers. Will miss seeing you at Bouchercon in Anchorage...was there last year on a cruise. Truly beautiful, but too pricey to do again...and to be truthful, I was just in Scotland (also wonderful) and am traveled out until February ! Have a great autumn!
 
 
 

CrimeSpace Google Search

© 2019   Created by Daniel Hatadi.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service